the wing quest continues…

Coming back to the states for the holidays has satisfied many of my cravings for home, family, the familiar, Santa Clauses and jingle bells.  But perhaps one of the best things about being back is, well, the buffalo wings.  Yes, those lovely little hot wings that I miss so much in Turkey.  If you’ve been reading my blog, you are well aware of the lack of good wings in Istanbul.  And hey, I can’t blame them, it’s not their schtick.  Just like borek and baklava are not America’s schtick.

Anyway, being back has given me the opportunity to indulge in as many wings as I can.  And fortunately, or unfortunately, almost every place I go to eat here offers wings.  So I’ve been indulging.  In fact, so much I thought I would take a day off today.  My stomach begged me.  But I am happy to report that I have been repeatedly happy with the wing quality I’ve experienced thus far.  

Check out my latest Ohio wings… next week is NY wings.  🙂

The Boulevard ~ Eastlake, Ohio

28 cent wings and $1 beers — can’t beat it!  Wing quality is superb, perfect crispyness, and fantastic hot sauce.  Although I got hot twice now, and medium once (to appease my mild-spiced friend), I think I will go for inferno next time.  I like a little more heat with my hot wings.  Oh and the celery is great here – fresh, juicy and not dried out in any way.  Blue cheese is pretty good.  Overall 9.5 on the Chicken Wing Scale of Loveliness.  

The Boulevard wingsThe Boulevard wings...

And as an added bonus for those burger lovers, not only are the burgers great, but all toppings are only 15 cents!  I love Ohio.

15cent toppings!

 

Panini’s ~ Willoughby, Ohio

On to Panini’s, an establishment known for their famous panini sandwiches, which come complete with fries inside the sandwich.  I was told I have to get the wings, which I didn’t really need much arm twisting for, so I got them — Buffalo Hot, extra crispy (the later part which was recommended by a seasoned Panini’s hot wing friend).  These wings got a solid 10 on the scale!  There was a perfect amount of sauce, they were cooked to perfection, and the size and juiciness of the chicken was like no other.  At first I thought the hot was not hot enough, but after a few wings, I was happy with the heat level.  I could have kicked it up a little, but maybe next time.  

Panini's wings

And I can’t forget to thank my friend Tsam for sending me a write up on the best hot wings in NYC.  I read it, studied it, and can’t wait to go to the Blind Tiger Ale House next week when we’re in NY.  Thank you Tsam!!   To read the review yourself:  NYC Best Wings Review by nycfoodguy

December 15, 2008. Tags: , , , , . Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Wendy replied:

    ummmmm, lol.

Leave a comment

Trackback URI